Carrie MacEwen

12 - 13 February 2020
Crowne Plaza, Stratford Upon Avon

Industry expert

  Carrie MacEwen

Carrie MacEwen

Academy of Medical Royal Colleges, Chair

Professor Caroline (Carrie) MacEwen is Chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges (2017–2020). She is immediate past President of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists (2014 – 2017) and a Consultant Ophthalmologist at Ninewells Hospital, Dundee. She is also an Associate post-graduate Dean in the East of Scotland for less than full time post-graduate medical training.

Carrie has always worked as a full-time clinician and received an Honorary Chair as Head of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Dundee, publishing more than 150 papers, writing and contributing to several textbooks and leading ophthalmology teaching.

She is ophthalmology clinical co-lead for the Getting It Right First Time (GIRFT) project, was a member of the Right Care Clinical Improvement Group and chaired the Elective Care Transformation Ophthalmology Working Group. She was a member of the Sir Norman Williams review into Gross Negligence Manslaughter for the Secretary of State.

She is Ophthalmology Specialty Adviser to the Scottish Government and leads the National Ophthalmology Workstream in Scotland and is a member of the National Access Collaborative. 

Professor MacEwen chaired the Scottish update of Certification of Vision Impairment and was a member of the UKCVI development board, the UK Vision Strategy Leadership Group and Transition Programme Board.

Carrie has worked nationally with all eye health care professionals to share and develop new ways of delivering ophthalmic care and has delivered a framework to support this.  She has been made an honorary fellow of the College of Optometrists and the British and Irish Orthoptic Society, the Faculty of Sport and Exercise Medicine and the Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh.

Carrie is an Associate Editor of the Scientific Journal “Eye”. She has been elected Master of the Oxford Ophthalmological Congress (2017-2018), the oldest UK wide national ophthalmic conference.

By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept